Local Placenames

Townland record details , townlands are the smallest official land division but many contain locally used placenames .


Official Townland name

Civil Parish
Poor Law Union
Registrars District
193 A. 2 R. 27 P.
O.S. 6" sheet(s)
Mayo 121 . 122
Griffiths Valuation
Poor Law Union of Ballinrobe - Page # 137
Kill :: click for more detailed Town plan
Click on map for a more detailed version
Kill :: Townland plan click for more detail
Click on Town Plan for a more detailed version

Click on the Griffiths Valuation Ballinrobe Page # 137 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.


Placenames mentioned in this townland are :

Field Name Book

Field Name Book description from 1838/1839 noted by the surveyors who produced the O.S maps originally.


B.S.S.M. : 7
Cill, a church.
  • Kill : J. 0'D,
  • Kill : Tithe Ledger
  • Keele : Strafford's Survey
  • Kill : Inq. temp. Jac. I.

This td. is situated in the south side of the parish. It is bounded on the N. by the td. of Cregnanagh; W. by Moorgagagh td.; E. by the td. of Tobernadarry; and by the parish of Shruel.

It contains 193a. 2r. 27p., including 10a. 2r. 5p. of water, and is the property of Lord Clanmorris. It is held by Mrs. 0'Shaughnessy, of Dublin, under a lease of 999 years, and is sublet by her at a yearly rent of from 23s. to 32s. per Irish acre, in farms of from 3 to 60 acres. The soil is light rocky, with limestone, and produces good crops. There are the remains of an old abbey in the west side of this td., near the border of a small lake. The tenants of this td. are all Catholics.

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Find ::

Civil Parish details available :: 11

Shrule ,   Moorgagagh ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killursa ,   Killeany ,   Kilmainemore ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilconla ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Cong ,   Cargin ,